Lowewood Museum re-opened on Saturday 17 July. It is open on Fridays and Saturdays from 10am to 4:30pm. A tea room and shop is available during opening hours.
Lowewood Museum tells the history of the Borough of Broxbourne, capturing the unique stories of those who have lived and worked there.
Housed in a beautiful Georgian building dating from the 1750s, their collection includes geology, archaeology, social history, costume, photography and art.
Lowewood runs a fantastic programme of events and activities. Along with great exhibitions, the Museum hosts a number of special events during the year, as well as family activities, specialist study days, community events and much more.
The site where the museum stands today has been occupied since the 1570s, when a house known as The Harvey’s stood there. Most of today’s building dates from the 1750s, and was built by a pharmacist called Hugh Hughes. In 1835 the house was bought by John Warner, a local Quaker and brass founder, and from then on was owned by the Warner family for over 100 years. In 1935 Lowewood was sold and bought by Mr Douglas Taylor. A year later, Taylor sold the property to the town council, to be used as a library and museum in memory of his late wife.
The library was transferred to a building in Hoddesdon’s High Street in the 1970s and the museum remains a much loved part of the local community, revealing the history of the Borough of Broxbourne from the earliest inhabitants to the present.
As of April 1 2021, the museum will be operated by the Lowewood Museum Trust CIO, a new charitable organisation set up to run and develop the museum, on behalf of Broxbourne Borough Council.